Any C# Developer to guide me

Hi,
I am from C# programming background, though i have good knowledge on web services and REST APIs, I am very new to this Open data standards, especially i couldnt get ‘protobuf’.

Is there any C# developer who can guide me with sample line of codes to consume real-time Datasets/APIs?

Thanks very much.
Muthu

Hi @Muthu, please make sure to read all the information we have on our website for developers:

Unfortunately we don’t offer coding guidance or assistance but hopefully another developer in our community will help you out. Also make sure to search our forum as I’m sure there are old threads that could be helpful.

Thanks,
Alex

Hi Alex,
Thanks for your kind info. I have looked at that link.

Thanks again,
Muthu

I’m not a C# developer, but I can try to explain protobufs. Don’t think of it as an API, think of it as an SDK. You provide a specification (like GTFS-realtime) to protoc (the protobuf compiler) and it outputs a bunch of C# classes you can use to read a feed in that specification.

So you need to:

• Get a TfNSW-flavored GTFS-realtime proto file
  • Compile it to a C# library
  • Fetch the feed over HTTP
  • Use the library to read the data from the feed

Hope that helps!

2 Likes

Hi Jayen,
Thanks for your kind info, much appreciated.

Cheers,
Muthu.

I received this question, for which the answer may also help you:

Is there any way to download GTFS-R (real time data) for all services (Bus/Train/Ferri) for all locations, because there is a limitations of max 60,000 calls to TfNSW API per day. If this real time data is available in our DB we can easily provide info to our customers.

GTFS-realtime is not an API, but a data format. GTFS-realtime is intended for getting the whole city at once. TfNSW has broken it up into one “download” for each mode (two for trains). One API call should get you all services for all locations for one mode.

2 Likes

Great.
Getting some clear picture now.