Real time info about all buses at a particular stop

Hello
I am quite new to the API world but I am trying to make a small web page which will render out in real time the bus services expected at a particular stop ID. I have been looking at the realtime API and am able to use CURL to request a dump of EVERYTHING, however I just want to query a particular stop.

For example
Query stop_id=123456
Results

SL3 - 4 minutes
651 - 6 minutes
288 - 23 minutes

I am not asking for someone to code this for me, but point me in the right direction of syntax to make this happen. I am reading through the various guides but if there are some ‘worked examples’ etc online that people could point me too it would be much appreciated.

Hi @iainbrew, have you had a look at the Trip Planner API? It has a ‘departure’ endpoint that will give you the functionality you’re looking for instead of sifting through the real-time API.

Thanks,
Alex

1 Like

Thanks so much Alex. Half way there - I was able to use your API demo’s to extract the required data. Next step for me is to then parse that so that I can display what I want (service name, departure time) and make it look nice on a display!

curl -X GET --header ‘Accept: application/json’ --header ‘Authorization: apikey ********’ ‘https://api.transport.nsw.gov.au/v1/tp/departure_mon?outputFormat=rapidJSON&coordOutputFormat=EPSG%3A4326&mode=direct&type_dm=stop&name_dm=211311&nameKey_dm=%24USEPOINT%24&departureMonitorMacro=true&excludedMeans=checkbox&exclMOT_1=1&exclMOT_4=1&exclMOT_7=1&exclMOT_9=1&exclMOT_11=1&TfNSWDM=true&version=10.2.1.42

I have used the guides and have tried to put together some PHP code from the Domestic Airport example t show realtime info of buses expected at a stop in Macquarie Park. Does the code look ok? In addition, as the API uses HTTPS, must my code also be run on an HTTPS server?

<?php
$apiEndpoint = 'https://api.transport.nsw.gov.au/v1/tp/'; 
$apiCall = 'departure_mon';
$apiKey = 'my_key_goes_here' ;